American University of Sharjah



Visa Information

Citizens of the following countries can obtain a visa upon entry: Andorra, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brunei, Cyprus, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Holland (Netherlands), Hong Kong, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Malta, Malaysia, Monaco, New Zealand, Norway, Paraguay, Portugal, San Marino, Singapore, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States of America and Vatican City.

Citizens of other countries will require a visa to enter the United Arab Emirates. If you are flying to the UAE using Emirates Airlines or Air Arabia, the airline can get you the necessary visa if you make the request in advance.

If you elect to apply for a visa at the UAE embassy in your country, we will be glad to provide you with any supporting documents that you may need. Please contact

The American University of Sharjah will be glad to apply for a conference visa on your behalf. The visa is valid for 30 days from the day of entry and is issued 15 days before the conference. AMICAL will cover the cost of the visa and the organizing committee will assist with the application.

To request this type of visa, the following information and documents must be sent to as soon as possible:

  • a soft copy of the passport 
  • a recent colored passport-type photo with white background (scanned);  click here for photo specifications
  • a completed Visa Application Form (please do not attach photo to the visa form) 

Please note that no visa application will be processed by AUS until all documents are submitted.

Thank you for your prompt action, and we look forward to seeing you in Sharjah.